Together

Some people make you feel special for a while but it takes true effort to make you feel special for a lifetime.

My most memorable day was just yesterday. Oh! Not because it was just my birthday but because it felt like it was a special day. I have always believed in birthdays being just another day but the love of life changed the way i felt. It’s been a joyous three years so three days where i have really felt i was special. The rest of the days in the year is where you just know you are special.

It all started with her wishing me on the phone exactly at 12.00. Followed by few friends and my sister who woke up just to wish me.  Dad and mom wished me in the morning. Numerous people texted both personally and on facebook.

The most memorable time was yet to come. Yesterday she baked a cake for me. I don’t know the time it takes to bake a cake and arrange the toppings but it means a lot to me when someone makes something for me by themselves. Of course she knows that.  But when you put that extra effort to do something by yourself, you are infact assuring them that you are ready to invest time, dedication , feelings and love towards us. And that’s what counts in a relationship. It doesn’t matter how the things they make turn out to be. By the way the cake was delicious. But i feel what matters is the effort they put in making it.

It was so fabulous. She and my friends made me cut it. Their “happy birthday” song was so loud the entire restaurant sang it for a while. Yes, unknown random people. It touches your heart, doesn’t it.

After that we ordered some excellent Chinese food. The manchow soup was fabulous and the appetizers just brilliant. Out came the noodles, fried rice and the canton rice deliciously made. We had a great time.

After being full we decided to go have some ice cream. Of Course “Corner House” was a first choice. We enjoyed some delicious ice creams. All the while we gossiped, we joked, we laughed. And that’s the power of being together. To set aside our differences, to forgo whatever we may feel about each other and just have a nice time.

Me and my girlfriend then went to spend some time together. I just wanted to spend a few minutes with her. We smiled , we just had a good time. I reminded her i would always love her and thanked her for her efforts and for making it my day. She gifted me a wonderful wall Clock too. It hangs in my room reminding me of her.

It is said the power of being together heals even the gravest of wounds.

Oh! i almost forgot , i helped a random stranger, an old person by dropping him for which he thanked me profusely. And i just nodded in agreement. Isn’t it a gift of life to help people in need?

I thank Housing.com for an opporunity to share my most memorable moment. Do check out their app and their website. They are doing a terrific job!!

Leave a comment