My Thanksgiving

“I was never born a Christian Father, but i am one in heart , Bless me” whispered Shisha with tears streaming down his cheeks.

It was only five days since he had arrived to New Jersey leaving everything behind in India. That everything included all the wonderful memories of being loved and cared by family. He had lost them all to an accident. Everyone except himself. Was it his will he survived or was it just because of pure luck he never knew. But he knew it was better if he had died with them. Thirty of them killed in the Landslide and he alive only because he got down in the previous stop to meet his friend and told them he would join them the next day.

The memories haunted him every single moment from then on ,he knew he would never live there. Packing his bag he had left to New Jersey with no one there he knew. He only had some money left to eat for a few months and then? He didn’t know.

He had been introduced to Christ by his Uncle when he was still a kid and had  fallen in love with him. He always knew that if there was someone looking after him it would be Christ.

He read the bible at night when his family was asleep, he felt baptised by his own tears when he read of how Christ died.

He bought a small silver Cross in the market with the little money he had saved. He wore it when he slept.

He believed and loved Christ.

As he stood in this Church he couldn’t complain. He just couldn’t complain that he lived. Gratitude overcame all his guilt as he saw a candle being lighted. Gratitude for living, for loving Christ.

He whispered a silent Thanks to all the people who had loved him , to all people who believed in him. A silent Thanks for the water he drank, for the air he breathed and the place he stood. He surrendered his soul to Christ as he stood there.  He never asked for direction in his life , he knew Christ would point it to him.

A silent Thanks to him.

It wasn’t how he imagined a Thanksgiving could be, but for him standing there, he felt alive.

As he turned to leave he saw an old lady observing him from a corner, he smiled. He was about to call a taxi outside when someone caught his arm.

He turned to see the old lady standing there, smiling at him.

” You seem lost child”

“Yes , i ..i” stammered Shisha as he didn’t know what to tell.

” I saw you from the moment you entered the Cathedral , you have a sorrow surrounding you,  yet you seem to have surrendered yourself to him”

” I do have a sorrow inside of me but i know he will heal it”

She smiled. The smile spoke a million words she didn’t say. “Well i do know how you must have felt , for he healed me a long time in this very place. I have never looked back since then.”

He smiled. A million words seemed to have mixed with his smile as he looked above in hope and Gratitude.

“Where do you stay?” she asked in a curious manner.

“An apartment nearby.”

” Well, how about you come to my home for Thanksgiving. It’s just around the corner. My whole family is going to be home for the holidays.”

“I would love to..but” the word family had evoked the sorrow in him but he felt a small ray of hope cross over his face as he felt touched by her love.

“You will come , dear . By the way i am Mary” she offered her hand .

” I am Shisha” he whispered as he shook hers. He noticed the wrinkles surrounding her’s. Years of pain and hard work.

— ^^–^^– ^^–^^–^^–

It’s been five years since that day. I had gone to her home for Thanksgiving and had gone every year from then on. I  found a new family and i am a part of it now. I fell in love with her daughter Christie and married her a year later in the same Church i had met Christ and her mother.

I have found a purpose in life.

I  will contest for the Governor position next year.

And i always Thank Christ and my old lady.  From that day forward, every time I drove past that street corner, I thought of her.

************************************************************************************************************************

Written for Speakeasy #137

Although the story is fiction i do echo Shisha’s love for Christ. And i would love to attend a Thanksgiving someday.

20 thoughts on “My Thanksgiving

  1. I couldn’t imagine moving somewhere where I didn’t know a single soul. I love how the lady saw his heart and welcomed him into her home. As for your after-note – I hope you get to experience a Thanksgiving, too. I like the traditional celebration,but what matters is the warmth of being surrounded by friends.

  2. What a lovely story Nadig! Those people who touch our lives are so important.

    I hope you get your wish someday. You are certainly always welcome at my family’s table. 🙂

  3. Some people have very generous spirits. I love reading stories about the kindness of strangers. I hope you get to experience a traditional Thanksgiving feast very soon.

    Karen

Leave a Reply

